Microsoft Outlook 2010: Automatically empty 'Deleted Items' folder on exit in Windows PC
Are you using Microsoft Outlook 2010? How have you managed your ‘Deleted Items’ folder so far? Well, if you are yet to get started, here is one handy tip that you can implement right away. You will find it amazing to know that the items that you delete from your inbox get accumulated in the ‘Deleted Items’ folder and thereby continue using system resources. It remains in the folder till the time you remove them from that folder by permanently deleting the same. By following the simple steps mentioned below, you can easily set your e-mail application to permanently remove all deleted items from the ‘Deleted Items’ folder, as soon as you exit the program.
The easy step solution to the above issue is as:
- Open Microsoft Outlook 2010.
- Click on the ‘File’ menu and then select ‘Options’.
- In the Outlook options window, click on ‘Advanced’.
- Under the ‘Outlook Start and Exit’ section, select the ‘Empty Deleted Items Folders When Exiting Outlook’ check box.
- Click on ‘OK’.
- Now every time you will close Microsoft Outlook, you’ll get a message to verify whether you want to permanently delete all items.
- Click ‘Yes’ to empty the ‘Deleted Items’ folder.
However, remember that once deleted, the items get removed forever and you will not be able to retrieve them no matter what. So, check if you would like to use this option or stay with the traditional way of removing the deleted items.
If your answer is ‘Yes’, here is a solution video that you will find handy to watch. This video will be relevant to all Windows Vista users.
And if you are using Windows XP, do not miss to check out this related video by clicking here.